A Year of Miracles

Daily Devotions and Reflections

A Year of Miracles

In A Year of Miracles, Marianne Williamson, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the classic A Return to Love and world-renowned teacher, offers a daily devotional that helps us develop a positive, loving mindset and encourages us to live our best selves to bring miracles into our lives. Williamson has taught millions around the world the simple yet profound lesson that has helped them tap into the divine within themselves and lead a happier, more fulfilled existence: How we think determines how we live. If you change your thoughts, you can change your reality. If you strive to put your best self forward, the universe responds, actively helping you, creating miracles that allow you to flourish. A Year of Miracles is her collection of 365 spiritual readings, including prayers, meditations, declarations, and affirmations—one for each day of the year—that offer guidance, support, and enlightenment to focus your thinking. With this thoughtful meditative devotional, you can stay mindful, hopeful, and centered every day, producing miracles in your life. Combining wisdom drawn from her bestselling books as well as fresh insight, A Year of Miracles helps enhance your spiritual journey and opens your eyes to see God acting through the universe to provide all that you need.

A Year of Miracles

Meditations Written by Members of Nicotine Anonymous

A Year of Miracles


The Law of Divine Compensation

On Work, Money, and Miracles

The Law of Divine Compensation

Marianne Williamson is a bestselling author (Return to Love, Healing the Soul of America), a world-renowned teacher, and one of the most important inspirational thinkers of our time. In The Law of Divine Compensation, she reveals the spiritual principles that help us overcome financial stress and unleash the divine power of abundance. A guru to anyone interested in spirituality, Williamson's words ring with power and truth as she assures us that, with faith in God's promise of prosperity for all, we need never fear the future.

A Return to Love

Reflections on the Principles of A Course in Miracles

A Return to Love

Back by popular demand -- and newly updated by the author -- the mega-bestselling spiritual guide in which Marianne Williamson shares her reflections on A Course in Miracles and her insights on the application of love in the search for inner peace. Williamson reveals how we each can become a miracle worker by accepting God and by the expression of love in our daily lives. Whether psychic pain is in the area of relationships, career, or health, she shows us how love is a potent force, the key to inner peace, and how by practicing love we can make our own lives more fulfilling while creating a more peaceful and loving world for our children.

Companions for the Soul

A Year Long Journey of Miracles, Prayers and Epiphanies

Companions for the Soul

Build each day on time-tested faith with this anthology of 366 classic Christian readings. Men and women of history from diverse Christian traditions share their love of Christ in Companions for the Soul. This devotional recalls the conversions of important historical figures, saints' days, sermon dates, and other events with the writings of Bunyan, Finney, and other Christians of earlier times.

Holy Shift!

365 Daily Meditations from A Course in Miracles

Holy Shift!

A Course in Miracles is a modern psycho-spiritual text that has inspired teachers like Marianne Williamson, Louise Hay, Wayne Dyer, Jerry Jampolsky, Sondra Ray, and Gabrielle Bernstein. With more than two million copies in print, in over thirty languages, individual students and study groups study it daily around the world. Robert Holden has studied the daily lessons offered in A Course in Miracles for twenty years. In Holy Shift!, Robert has selected 365 of his favorite passages from A Course in Miracles to serve as daily meditations throughout the year. Students who are already familiar with the Course will enjoy this portable edition of miracles, and those new to the Course will appreciate the friendly and accessible introduction. Holy Shiftwill help everyone to practice the universal tenets of this profound teaching and to experience a year of miracles.

In the Language of Miracles

A Novel

In the Language of Miracles

• A New York Times Editors’ Choice • “Assured and beautifully crafted . . . Hassib is a natural, graceful writer with a keen eye for cultural difference. . . . [She] handles the anatomy of grief with great delicacy. . . . In the Language of Miracles should find a large and eager readership. For the beauty of the writing alone, Hassib deserves it.” —Monica Ali, The New York Times Book Review “[A] sensitive, finely wrought debut . . . sharply observant of immigrants’ intricate relationships to their adopted homelands, this exciting novel announces the arrival of a psychologically and socially astute new writer.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) For readers of House of Sand and Fog, a mesmerizing debut novel of an Egyptian American family and the wrenching tragedy that tears their lives apart Samir and Nagla Al-Menshawy appear to have attained the American dream. After immigrating to the United States from Egypt, Samir successfully works his way through a residency and launches his own medical practice as Nagla tends to their firstborn, Hosaam, in the cramped quarters of a small apartment. Soon the growing family moves into a big house in the manicured New Jersey suburb of Summerset, where their three children eventually attend school with Natalie Bradstreet, the daughter of their neighbors and best friends. More than a decade later, the family’s seemingly stable life is suddenly upended when a devastating turn of events leaves Hosaam and Natalie dead and turns the Al-Menshawys into outcasts in their own town. Narrated a year after Hosaam and Natalie’s deaths, Rajia Hassib’s heartfelt novel follows the Al-Menshawys during the five days leading up to the memorial service that the Bradstreets have organized to mark the one-year anniversary of their daughter’s death. While Nagla strives to understand her role in the tragedy and Samir desperately seeks reconciliation with the community, Khaled, their surviving son, finds himself living in the shadow of his troubled brother. Struggling under the guilt and pressure of being the good son, Khaled turns to the city in hopes of finding happiness away from the painful memories home conjures. Yet he is repeatedly pulled back home to his grandmother, Ehsan, who arrives from Egypt armed with incense, prayers, and an unyielding determination to stop the unraveling of her daughter’s family. In Ehsan, Khaled finds either a true hope of salvation or the embodiment of everything he must flee if he is ever to find himself. Writing with unflinchingly honest prose, Rajia Hassib tells the story of one family pushed to the brink by tragedy and mental illness, trying to salvage the life they worked so hard to achieve. The graceful, elegiac voice of In the Language of Miracles paints tender portraits of a family’s struggle to move on in the wake of heartbreak, to stay true to its traditions, and above all else, to find acceptance and reconciliation. From the Hardcover edition.

The Age of Miracles

A Novel

The Age of Miracles

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY People ∙ O: The Oprah Magazine ∙ Financial Times ∙ Kansas City Star ∙ BookPage ∙ Kirkus Reviews ∙ Publishers Weekly ∙ Booklist NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER “A stunner.”—Justin Cronin “It’s never the disasters you see coming that finally come to pass—it’s the ones you don’t expect at all,” says Julia, in this spellbinding novel of catastrophe and survival by a superb new writer. Luminous, suspenseful, unforgettable, The Age of Miracles tells the haunting and beautiful story of Julia and her family as they struggle to live in a time of extraordinary change. On an ordinary Saturday in a California suburb, Julia awakes to discover that something has happened to the rotation of the earth. The days and nights are growing longer and longer; gravity is affected; the birds, the tides, human behavior, and cosmic rhythms are thrown into disarray. In a world that seems filled with danger and loss, Julia also must face surprising developments in herself, and in her personal world—divisions widening between her parents, strange behavior by her friends, the pain and vulnerability of first love, a growing sense of isolation, and a surprising, rebellious new strength. With crystalline prose and the indelible magic of a born storyteller, Karen Thompson Walker gives us a breathtaking portrait of people finding ways to go on in an ever-evolving world. “Gripping drama . . . flawlessly written; it could be the most assured debut by an American writer since Jennifer Egan’s Emerald City.”—The Denver Post “Pure magnificence.”—Nathan Englander “Provides solace with its wisdom, compassion, and elegance.”—Curtis Sittenfeld “Riveting, heartbreaking, profoundly moving.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.

The Making of Miracles in Indian States

Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, and Gujarat

The Making of Miracles in Indian States

Growth miracles typically have been studied at the country level. In The Making of Miracles in Indian States, internationally-renowned economists Arvind Panagariya and M. Govinda Rao bring together a team of six leading scholars to break from that tradition and study three growth miracles in India at the level of the state: Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, and Gujarat. These are three large and diverse states in India: Gujarat has the third-highest per-capita income among the largest eighteen states, Bihar is the poorest, and Andhra Pradesh falls in the middle. Despite vast differences among the states, all three have grown at rates exceeding 8% for an entire decade in the twenty-first century. Each section of this three-part book offers a historical perspective on the state's development and the specific factors that improved its economic fortunes. The three case studies are backed by extensive quantitative documentation. They demonstrate the critical role that leadership, translated into improved policies and implementation, plays in stimulating growth and development. The Making of Miracles in Indian States is essential reading for students and scholars alike, as well as policy makers, NGO workers, and employees of international institutions.